Anke Euler

Anke Euler has been a permanent member of the steptext dance project team since 2012. As dance dramaturg, she supervises the productions of Helge Letonja and to some extent, also those of guest choreographers*. She embeds the performances in supporting programs that offer practical and theoretical spaces for reflection, conceives event series, establishes collaborations and curates festivals in collaboration with Helge Letonja and cooperation partners, such as Baila Espana for contemporary dance from Spain and AFRICTIONS for contemporary dance between Africa and Europe.
One focus is on the development of interdisciplinary formats with artists from other disciplines, scientists, experts or activists from different social fields in order to explore the context of the pieces or festivals on as many levels as possible. Another core element of her work is the communication of dance to a wide variety of groups and

audiences, whether newcomers to dance, students, professionals or theater makers – the aim is always to build bridges to contemporary dance, which she sees as “the motor of experiencing the world as a common reality that we all share”. She sees dance as an important counterbalance to exclusionary, intolerant, stranger to physical contact bodily hostile and misanthropic attitudes and phenomena. Anke Euler studied dramaturgy, French philology and philosophy at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich and the Bavarian Theater Academy August Everding. Before joining steptext, she worked as a dramaturg for Micha Purucker, TravelLight Munich, co>labs tanz/ theater/ productions Nuremberg, Francisco Sanchez-Martinez/ Theater Lüneburg, and the Munich festival RODEO and 2019, as well as 2020 in 1:1 format for the Performing Art Festival Berlin. In addition to her work for steptext, she is currently a jury member for project funding in the field of dance for the City of Munich.

BIOGRAPHY

Anke Euler

Seit 2012 ist Anke Euler fest im Team von steptext dance project und betreut als Tanzdramaturgin die Produktionen von Helge Letonja und teils auch die der Gastchoreograf*innen. Sie bettet die Aufführungen in Rahmenprogramme, die praktische und theoretische Reflexionsräume bieten, konzipiert Veranstaltungsreihen, baut Kooperationen auf und kuratiert in Zusammenarbeit mit Helge Letonja und Kooperationspartnern Festivals wie z.B. Baila Espana für zeitgenössischen Tanz aus Spanien und AFRICTIONS für zeitgenössischen Tanz zwischen Afrika und Europa.
Ein inhaltlicher Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Entwicklung interdisziplinäre Formate mit Künstler*innen anderer Sparten, Wissenschaftler*innen, Expert*innen oder Aktivist*innen aus unterschiedlichen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen, um den Kontext der Stücke oder Festivals auf möglichst vielen Ebenen verhandeln. Ein weiteres Herzstück ihrer Arbeit ist die Tanzvermittlung an unterschiedlichste Gruppen und Publika, ob Tanzneulinge, Studierende, Fachpublikum oder

Theatermacher – immer geht es darum Brücken zum zeitgenössischen Tanz zu bauen, den sie als „Motor eines Erlebens der Welt als eine gemeinsame Realität, die wir alle teilen“ sieht. Tanz versteht sie als wichtiges Gegengewicht gegenüber ausgrenzenden, intoleranten, körper- und menschenfeindlichen Haltungen und Phänomenen. Als Kunst kann er diese Elemente spiegeln, aber gerade auch die Prozesse der Selbstbehauptung des Menschen abbilden. Studiert hat Anke Euler Dramaturgie, Französische Philologie und Philosophie an der Ludwig- Maximilians-Universität München sowie der Bayerischen Theaterakademie August Everding. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit für steptext arbeitete sie u.a. als Dramaturgin für Micha Purucker, TravelLight München, co>labs tanz/ theater/ produktionen Nürnberg, Francisco Sanchez-Martinez/ Theater Lüneburg, und das Münchner Festival RODEO und 2019, sowie 2020 im 1:1 Format des Performing Art Festivals Berlin. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit für steptext ist sie aktuell Teil der Jury für Projektmittel im Bereich Tanz der Landeshauptstadt München.

BIOGRAFIE